Independent, alternative media for gaming and entertainment

Quake Champions Announced for PC

(Image by Bethesda Softworks)

(Image by Bethesda Softworks)

All-new Quake multiplayer is coming.

Quake Champions is the newest game in the franchise releasing exclusively for the PC, Bethesda Softworks announced during its own E3 conference on Sunday.

Quake Champions will be a multiplayer-focused, character-based game with arena-style matches, designed for fast-paced gameplay with eSports in mind. Each character will have their own unique features and abilities. The game will run at a 120Hz refresh rate and feature unlocked frame-rates. Bethesda will also create new competitive tournaments and leagues for the game after its release.

The game is in co-development from Saber Interactive along with id Software. Saber Interactive developed Timeshift (2007), Inversion (2012) and also helped work on Halo: The Master Chief Collection (2014).

Four of the game’s characters, which are being called champions, were revealed during the conference. Ranger from the original Quake, Visor from Quake III Arena (1999) and two brand-new characters will be playable in Quake Champions. Every champion has their own special ability for combat, like Ranger who will use the Dire Orb to teleport to desired locations. There will also be rocket and strafe-jumping gameplay mechanics just like in the classic games.

Tim Willits, studio director of id Software and one of the co-designers on the original Quake, said during the reveal that the company will show more of the game in August at its own Quakecon event in Dallas, Texas.

A release date for Quake Champions wasn’t announced.

The original Quake first released in June 1996 after the success of the Doom franchise. Developed by id Software with John Romero, Willits and others, the early Quake games revolutionized multiplayer over connected networks and the Internet. While the games included single-player campaigns, the franchise became known for its multiplayer side. The first Quake features a design that’s more gothic and darker than the Doom titles but its sequels added more sci-fi elements to each release.

The last games in the series were Quake 4 for the Xbox 360 and PC in 2005, which Raven Software developed and Activision published. Enemy Territory: Quake Wars released in 2007 but is in a different gameplay style with a focus on team modes and objectives. Quake Live by id Software originally launched in 2010 as a free-to-play web browser game that’s an update of Quake III Arena. Eventually the game featured paid subscriptions for more content and private servers before dropping free-to-play completely in 2015 by becoming a purchasable version on Steam that’s integrated with Steamworks.

Watch Quake Champion’s reveal trailer:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

%d bloggers like this: