Independent, alternative media for gaming and entertainment

Rock Band Gets First New Downloadable Songs in Almost 2 Years

(Image by Harmonix)

(Image by Harmonix)

For the first time in 21 months, Rock Band will get new downloadable content, Harmonix announced on Monday.

Three new tracks will be available to download on the PlayStation 3 and Xbox 360 starting Jan. 13. “R U Mine?” (2013) by Arctic Monkeys, “Shepherd Of Fire” (2013) by Avenged Sevenfold and “Something From Nothing” (2014) by Foo Fighters will be added to the Rock Band library.

Each song will cost $1.99 to download. The three new songs are playable on Rock Band 3 (2010) and the controller-based Rock Band Blitz (2012). This is the first DLC release for the Rock Band franchise in 21 months.

Europe will receive the new songs on PS3 starting Jan.21.

The Rock Band Music Store first launched on Nov. 20, 2007 and had downloadable song releases for 275 consecutive weeks. The Rock Band catalog features more than 4,00 songs from 1,400 artists.

The last weekly content for Rock Band was “American Pie” by Don McLean that released April 2, 2013. Harmonix said it stopped the weekly release schedule to focus on other projects.

Rock Band Blitz is currently on sale for PS3 at $5.49 on the PlayStation Store through Jan. 20.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

%d bloggers like this: